After two sterling performances at Skyline 2018, we are very pleased to welcome back James Ellis and the Jealous Guys.

Sounding like Daniel Romano meets Ray Price, James Ellis and the Jealous Guys are sure to be on high rotation with country-music lovers everywhere with the release of their debut album, It Ain’t Texas (But It Ain’t Bad), through Blind Date Records.

The Jealous Guys are made up of members of Big Smoke (Tim Baker, Luke Brennan, Joe Cope), Broads (Kelly Day) and The Hello Morning (Steve Veale). The album was recorded and mixed by Roger Bergodaz (Lost Ragas, Freya Josephine Hollick) and was mastered by Adam Dempsey (Courtney Barnett, CW Stoneking, Jordie Lane).

The story behind the record is this: in September 2016, James Ellis travelled to Austin, Texas. He returned to Melbourne one month later wanting to put together a country and honky-tonk band that combined the influences of two of the greatest live music cities in the world. This idea resulted in the album, It Ain’t Texas (But It Ain’t Bad).